I’ve been feeling icky about the financial situation I’m in. I’ll get into more of it sooner or later, but I’m ready to make changes to make it better.

See, I’ve been reading a lot of Personal Finance blogs over the last few weeks and realize that it is totally possible to make these changes and better my situation.  If other people can do it, so can I!

My situation isn’t as drastic as some of the ones I’ve read about, but I’m not comfortable with it by any means. I’ll get into specifics in future posts, but I’m going to put my total debt at under $15,000 including student loans, credit cards, personal loans, and some past due bills I’m still working on paying off.

Not horrible, like I said…but not comfortable.

I invite you to pull up a chair, get cozy – maybe with some tea or hot coco- and enjoy my journey with me. I don’t pretend to be perfect regardless of what my grandparents think, and I’m going to make mistakes…but little changes and practice will make those mistakes fewer and further between. I hope!

The first step today? I have $10 left over from the money I planned on spending this weekend. Instead of buying sushi lunch with it? I put it in my savings account. (I guess that’s what you Personal Finance bloggers would call a “snowflake”.)

It’s not a big step or even a big “snowflake”, but here in Upstate NY we do understand just how fast those “snowflakes” can add up!

