***Today’s post is cross posted wtih my other blog***

So I got on the scale last night. That was a mistake. Granted, I haven’t been to the gym in like 8 weeks for various reasons – maybe longer…but the number was not acceptable – whatsoever.

199.

Not happy about it. I can still wear my clothes, but I hate that its so high. I know it’s not healthy so I have to fix this.

First order of business – get back on task with the food intake. I can do this, I’ve done it before!

Second order of business – get back to the gym. This is going to be harder considering I’m fricken exhausted all the time, but I’m going to try like hell.

My first goal? 10lbs.  That’s 35,000 calories I need to burn or not consume.

I can do that.

I found this useful tool to calculate calories burned while doing various activities and this one to figure out how many calories a day I should consume. (You should know that 3 hours of being in the pool teaching swimming lessons burns about 1146 calories. Considering I spend 3 hours solid jumping around the pool and acting like an idiot I’ll consider that to be aerobics. That totally explains why I was so damn hungry last Sunday.)

According to that site, I should consume about 2,300 calories a day to maintain my weight. I don’t want to maintain my weight though, I want to lose weight. BUT! Previous research has indicated that 1,600 calories per day is an acceptable amount to consume and lose weight at a safe for me pace. Previous research has also indicated that about 35 grams of fat is ok too and I try to eat as much fiber as I do fat grams.

I’m creating a spread sheet and going to put it in Google Docs. The chart itself will begin on Monday, but I’m going to start practicing today. I’ll post weekly updates in the new sidebar. If I don’t, please remind me!

